Let’s Watch: Supernatural

YzpTA16.gif

Odd thing to watch at the moment considering it was one of the shows that I stopped watching after a certain season. Figured it would be the best thing for me to watch for my new experiment ‘Let’s Watch’.  Tasha is even watching it as well though, her reactions to it are slightly different than mine.

Our reasons for not watching it anymore are vastly different. For Tasha she simply didn’t have the time. As for me, well, I ended up having a huge conniption fit after season 8. Season 8 finale had all the angels in heaven being cast down to Earth. Myself and a friend had watched the series religiously up until this point. We then called the ending before the season even started and when it happened I threw up my hands and stopped watching the show.

Rather silly reason to stop watching the show, but I had gotten bored with the predictability that the show relies on. Now, I still love the show from season 1-5. Those are my favorite seasons with what I believe to be the greatest episodes. I have the Team Free Will pop vinyls and even a model of the Impala. As I type this I’m even wearing a Hunter’s Checklist tank top. Their actors are adorable as well. I’ve participated in GISHWHES (now called Gish) that Misha Collins (who plays Castiel) and that I fully understand Jared Padalecki’s fight with depression.

I believe that at a certain point the show’s writers failed the actors. They failed by not giving them the chance to fully prove and expand upon the characters more than they already had. Apparently some things have changed since I stopped watching and things seem to have improved, including bringing back one of my favorite characters. Plus, the rather dorky Scoobynatural episode that I had to watch. That episode is what prompted the return to the early seasons.

So, now my cats sit next to me while I giggle about how adorable the boys look in the early seasons. They don’t care about the show and just listen to my babble about certain things within the episodes. It’s nice to have someone to talk to about my opinions for shows besides Tasha.

Stay tuned for my next segment of Let’s Watch where I discuss season one of Supernatural with Tasha. We won’t just be talking about how cute they are either. The topics will range from the monsters they battle to the progression of Sam and Dean’s characters.

Leave a comment